Rosberg Stays Ahead Of Hamilton In Brazil To Stay In Title Hunt

XPB_e693194efd43f1eec9edb0ee97e6533c-3

Nico Rosberg kept calm to stay in front of Lewis Hamilton and win the 2014 Brazilian Grand Prix. Starting from pole, Rosberg remained in the lead for the majority of the race to get his fifth win of the year. Finishing behind Rosberg were Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa in second and third place, respectively.

Rosberg was understandably delighted at recording his first win since the German Grand Prix in July.

“That was a fantastic weekend and I felt very comfortable over the whole three days. I had to learn from Austin, which was a big disappointment, and I think I achieved that. I was able to control the pace a bit better and didn’t let Lewis come too close. He drove really well and was always right there pushing me.

“When he spun I had a bit of time to relax and was able to save some life in the tyres for the end of the stint. That worked out perfectly and it was a great day with another one-two for the team. I was also happy for Felipe to be on the podium with us at his home race.

Hamilton pushed hard but could not pass his team-mate

Hamilton pushed hard but could not pass his team-mate

Lewis Hamilton was disappointed to have come second to his team-mate but was eager for the final round of the year in Abu Dhabi.

“Obviously, I lost some points which is disappointing. But it’s a great team result with a record-breaking one-two finish and I really enjoyed the race. The car is just fantastic – the best I’ve ever driven – so a big thank you to the team for all their hard work. I’ll be pushing just as hard in Abu Dhabi and hopefully we’ll get to have another great race like we saw today.”

Massa out-raced his team-mate Valtteri Bottas

Massa out-raced his team-mate Valtteri Bottas

Felipe Massa brought much joy to the Brazilian fans by getting his second podium of the year.

“Obviously, I lost some points which is disappointing. But it’s a great team result with a record-breaking one-two finish and I really enjoyed the race. The car is just fantastic – the best I’ve ever driven – so a big thank you to the team for all their hard work. I’ll be pushing just as hard in Abu Dhabi and hopefully we’ll get to have another great race like we saw today.”

Vettel finished ahead of his team-mate Ricciardo

Vettel finished ahead of his team-mate Ricciardo

Sebastian Vettel was satisfied to finish the race in fifth after  a strong start to the race.

“I had a good launch at the start and then into Turn 4… maybe I don’t have the best memories of Turn 4 here from two years ago, I didn’t know how aggressive Kevin (Magnussen) was going to be going into it and I left a bit too much space. I went a bit wide and lost two positions as I couldn’t get on the power out of the corner.”

“Then I had to fight hard to get the positions back during the race which we did, especially with strategy. I hoped to get maybe one more position to finish fourth, but in the end it was a good result for us here.”

Raikkonen had one of his better performances this season

Raikkonen had one of his better performances this season

Kimi Raikkonen was pleased with the progress Ferrari have been making with his troubles in the car this car as he enjoyed his part in the race and finished in seventh.

“Overall, this has been a positive weekend and even today in the race, I felt very good in the car. During the second stint, we realised that if we went for a two stop strategy, we could make up ground, but then, at my second pitstop, I lost valuable time and that cost me some places.

“In the final part of the race, I had to fight off Button for a few laps and when Fernando caught me, tyre degradation meant I couldn’t fend him off. We leave Interlagos with a good feeling and even if we still have a lot of work ahead of us, this continued progress makes me confident for the future.”

Brazilian Grand Prix Result

Pos Driver Car Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1h30m02.555s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1.457s
3 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 41.031s
4 Jenson Button McLaren/Mercedes 48.658s
5 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull/Renault 51.420s
6 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m01.906s
7 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m03.730s
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1m03.934s
9 Kevin Magnussen McLaren/Mercedes 1m10.085s
10 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1 Lap
11 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Renault 1 Lap
12 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Renault 1 Lap
13 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso/Renault 1 Lap
14 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
15 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1 Lap
16 Adrian Sutil Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
17 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Renault Power Unit
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault Suspension

 

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

